Week 13: Easy Street- Trying Classmates’ Algorithmic Art

Art 110

This week I decided to try two Algorithmic Art procedures, Text Message Poetry, belonging to Jasmine Barnum and Alphabet Stories, belonging to Amanda Bjornstad.

TEXT MESSAGE POETRY

Instructions:

1. Get your mobile device!

2. Open up to your text messages.

3. Look through your messages of the last ten people you have messaged.

4. Write down the third word of the last text you sent to that person.

5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 for all of the ten people from your text messages.

6. Make a poem from all the words you wrote down.

7. Read your poem aloud!

My result:

” Right laid are your for send you going I get ”

I wish mine made sense like Jasmine’s; hers showed meaning and mine sounds like a dictionary threw up!

ALPHABET STORIES

Instructions:

  1. Write out each letter of the alphabet.
  2. Write a word next to the letter, starting with the listed letter.
  3. Write a story connecting all the words together.

My result:

Apple

Baby

Carrot

Donut

Eggs

Frog

Game

Harvard

Igloo

Jump

Korea

Lamp

Memorize

Nerissa

Opera

Penguin

Queen

Robot

Snake

Television

Umbrella

Venus

Whale

Xylophone

Yellow

Zoo

“Hello, you! By the apples! Have you seen my baby brother?!” He frantically asked. “I thought I last saw him by carrots because he wanted some, but then again he also wanted some donuts.. or was it eggs? Agh please help me find him!” The frog was talking to a rabbit, who was shopping for her family’s next bobbing for apples game. The rabbit and the frog searched for the frog’s little brother, and got to know each other while they searched. The rabbit shared that she was waiting to hear if he got a scholarship to Harvard, as he really longed to get out of his family’s miserable igloo. He felt his phone ring, and it was an email! He jumped to answer it. He got into Harvard! AND he got into the studying abroad program! He would soon be going to Korea. The frog congratulated him- he shared that he worked in a lamp factory, and was currently striving to memorize all of the pieces of the new model. With the searching, they forgot to introduce themselves properly! “My name is Nerissa“, said the rabbit. “My name is Jim”, said the frog. They made plans to go to the opera, and got in line and each paid for their groceries. The cashier was a friendly penguin, who mentioned that the Nerissa looked like a queen! Nerissa blushed and hurried to pay because she could tell the robot behind her was getting impatient. With the plans she made and the compliments she made, Nerissa had forgotten about her brother! Nerissa saw a snake security guard chasing her brother around on the the store on the security camera television screen above the exit doors. Her brother was running around with an umbrella yelling “I’M YOUR VENUS, I’M YOUR FIRE, YOUR DESIRE”. She quickly grabbed him, deeply apologized, and took him to the car. Nerissa tried to scold him, but his whale toy in the car distracted him and he didn’t listen. When they got home, he tripped over his xylophone, and got a bruise that quickly turned purple and yellow. Nerissa thought that he deserved this karma, but his crying got him a trip to the zoo from his parents. Nerissa can never win.

Okay so this was so weird! Since I read Amanda’s letters she chose, I didn’t want to choose my own words because I thought hers would influence mine. So I had my roommate Nerissa choose my words. And that is how this ridiculous animal story came to be.

Leave a Reply

