Week 7: Artist Conversation with Clare Samani

Art 110

In the Dennis W. Dutzi gallery this week was the amazing screen printing show, “Paradox” by Ink 14

IMG_0569

When screen printing was brought up in class on tuesday, I was excited to see the whole Paradox show on thursday. In my art class in high school, we did some screen printing- with lino blocks and colorful ink. I actually still have one of my pieces on my school binder! It’s the Japanese symbol for water.

Clare Samani was there speaking about screen printing, telling us about the different kinds of screen printing that there are, and the kinds used within the show. Here are some of my favorite pieces!

IMG_0572 IMG_0570 IMG_0571

This is Clare’s piece: it is called “I Know That I know Nothing At All”

img_2456

She used Lithograph screen printing to create this piece. She informed us that Lithograph is the oldest type of screen printing! She said it takes about 6-8 hours to get it onto the stone, and then another 8 to get it etched and printed. Clare sketches first, then refines them with computer programs to get them just how she wants them, and then puts them onto the stone. This is a really long process! But the outcomes are so amazing, it is definitely worth the time and effort. I can really appreciate all kinds of screen printing because of my experience with it, and because now I have seen multiple different ways of doing it.

Leave a Reply

