Week 6: Yarn Bombing

Art 110

My face during lecture while Yarn Bombing was being explained:

Wut

I didn’t really understand the concept of Yarn Bombing at first- how is this expressive? What is the point? Do a lot of people appreciate this kind of thing?

I left class and was like “well, okay!”

After seeing the art galleries, I went upstairs to the Fiber arts department and saw some pretty cool stuff- in the hallway was this large sculpture, which incorporated many different materials. Including yarn!

IMG_0519        IMG_0520

I also saw cool machines like this one!

img_20150226_164248_725

Seeing the random wrapping of yarn over the top of that sculpture made me feel better about how my attempt would probably end up- it made me feel okay with the random mess that would probably ensue.

So this week I cut up 3 shirts, took 3 strips, and braided them into one.

IMG_0543

This is in my dorm building- the rail going upstairs. I guess it needed some sprucing up!

I took the braid and wrapped it around the rail- it ended up looking like this

IMG_0544

While doing this a couple of my friends asked what I was doing- I couldn’t really explain it so I found pictures on my phone and showed them, and explained that this week I had to do something similar. This was my kind of “gentle graffiti!”. I got good feedback and my roommate said that once I take it down, she wants it. She likes the colors and wants it as a headband :p

Overall, now I understand why yarn bombing is pretty cool and how expressive it really can be.

Leave a Reply

